IPEEC was founded in 2009 by the G8 (Group of 8) to serve the world’s major economies. It now includes 16 of the 20 members of the G20 (Group of 20), covering both developed and emerging economies.

Among its founding members are Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Korea, Me , Russia, the United Kingdom, and the United States. Since its creation, Australia, the European Union, India, and South Africa have also become members of IPEEC. Turkey is currently in the process of joining the partnership.


·      Australia

·      European Union

·      Italy

·      South Africa

·      Brazil

·      France

·      Japan

·      South Korea

·      Canada

·      Germany

·      Me

·      United Kingdom

·      China

·      India

·      Russia

·      United States


IPEEC works directly with governmental ministries, departments and agencies responsible for energy efficiency. IPEEC welcomes membership by other national governmental entities and intergovernmental organisations, subject to approval by the Policy Committee.

Participation in IPEEC´s technical task groups is open to private sector entities, international organisations, regional associations, national agencies, local bodies and civil society groups, with the agreement of Task Group leads.