G20 action

The IPEEC Secretariat oversees and coordinates the G20’s energy efficiency work under the 2014 G20 Energy Efficiency Action Plan and 2016 G20 Energy Efficiency Leading Programme. The 2016 G20 Energy Efficiency Leading Programme is the G20’s first long-term plan for energy efficiency, which is a “comprehensive, flexible, and adequately-resourced” framework for strengthened voluntary collaboration on energy efficiency among G20 members and beyond. 

The IPEEC Secretariat coordinates the implementation of the Leading Programme by supporting sectoral work streams called ‘task groups’, which drive collaboration and knowledge-sharing among G20 members and other participating countries on key areas for energy efficiency. The task groups are run by officials from IPEEC member countries and other participating nations with the support of expert organisations. Task groups have made considerable progress and achievements in the design, acceleration and enactment of energy efficiency policies and programmes under the G20 since 2014.

There are currently nine dedicated task groups (also referred to as work streams) under the G20 Leading Programme:

Networked Devices Task Group (NDTG);

Super-efficient Equipment and Appliance Deployment (SEAD) Initiative;

Buildings Energy Efficiency Task Group (BEET);

Energy Management Working Group (EMWG);

Energy Management Action Network (EMAK);

High Efficiency Low Emissions Task Group (HELE);

Transport Task Group (TTG);

Energy Efficiency Finance Task Group (EEFTG); and

Top Ten Energy Efficiency Best Practices and Best Available Technologies Task Group (TOP TENs).

Sustained collaboration within the G20 has the potential to ensure
that energy efficiency measures are implemented more widely, more quickly and more
cost-effectively by countries, institutions and businesses.